old-stone-house-thumb

Old Stone House Museum & Orleans County Historical Society

Located in a quiet and picturesque Northeast Kingdom village, the museum includes six buildings on fifty five acres.  Seemingly untouched by time, this hillside town is centered around a monumental stone dormitory, called Athenian Hall, built in 1834-36 by the Rev. Alexander Twilight, the nation’s first African-American college graduate and state legislator.  The stone house now houses 21 rooms of exhibits focusing on 19th century life in northern Vermont. The collection includes furniture, textiles, photographs, pottery, folk and fine art, and many of the tools and utensils of daily life.  The exhibits continue in Twilight’s own house, two more historic houses and a traditional barn.

The Museum is located in the Brownington Village Historic District, amidst 19th century homes and a church, surrounded by farmland.

    Hours

  • Sun:11:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Wed:11:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Thu:11:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Fri:11:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sat:11:00 am - 4:00 pm

Contact

802-754-2022
109 Old Stone House Road, Orleans VT

    Amenities

  • Bank Nearby
  • Canoeing Nearby
  • Downhill Skiing Nearby
  • Farm Nearby
  • Gas Station Nearby
  • Gift Shop
  • Golf Nearby
  • Grocery Store Nearby
  • Gym Nearby
  • Health Center Nearby
  • Hiking Nearby
  • Meeting Facilities
  • Non-Smoking
  • Nordic Skiing Nearby
  • Parking
  • Picnic Nearby
  • Public Restrooms
  • Scenic Area Nearby